Retail store credit cards (CMR Falabella, Banco Ripley, Lider Bci and Cencosud Scotiabank) are among the most searched in Chile: "tarjeta ripley" gets around 60,500 monthly searches on Google and "tarjeta lider" 49,500. Comparing their official documents, checked on November 5, 2026, the monthly maintenance fee ranges from 0.085 UF (about CLP 3,508) on the basic CMR Falabella card to 0.238 UF (about CLP 9,822) on the Banco Ripley Mastercard.
On interest, rates for debts of up to 50 UF are pinned to the legal ceiling: the maximum conventional rate set by the CMF from October 15 is 41.02% a year for those operations, according to the certificate published in the Diario Oficial. This comparison shows only what each issuer publishes; it does not recommend any card and does not replace the summary sheet (hoja resumen) each institution hands over at signing.
View the data as a table
| Legal maximum rate up to 50 UF | 41.02% |
| Basic CMR Falabella fee | CLP 3,508 |
| Lider Bci fee | CLP 8,625 |
| Banco Ripley Mastercard fee | CLP 9,822 |
Maintenance fees on retail store cards
The administration or maintenance fee is charged in UF, so its peso value rises with inflation. These are the monthly fees (VAT included) that each issuer reports for its main cards. At Lider Bci, the fee depends on when the contract was signed:
| CMR Falabella (Visa o Mastercard) | Banco Falabella | 0.085 | 3,508 | 42,096 |
| CMR Falabella Visa Contactless / Visa Pro | Banco Falabella | 0.105 | 4,333 | 51,996 |
| CMR Falabella Visa Platinum | Banco Falabella | 0.170 | 7,016 | 84,192 |
| CMR Falabella Visa Signature | Banco Falabella | 0.350 | 14,444 | 173,328 |
| Banco Ripley Mastercard | Banco Ripley | 0.238 | 9,822 | 117,864 |
| Lider Bci (contracts since Dec 2022) | Bci | 0.209 | 8,625 | 103,500 |
| Lider Bci Preferente (since Dec 2022) | Bci | 0.179 | 7,387 | 88,644 |
| Lider Bci (contracts since Apr 2021) | Bci | 0.103 | 4,251 | 51,012 |
When it is charged and how to reduce it
- Banco Ripley: charges the fee if the card is used during the billing period or if there is an unpaid balance, according to its website.
- Lider Bci: until December 31, 2026 it gives a 50% discount with 5 to 9 monthly transactions and 100% with 10 or more (purchases, cash advances or super advances above CLP 5,000, automatic payments and insurance premiums), according to Bci's table.
- Cencosud Scotiabank: the monthly administration service is charged if there are purchases, cash advances, insurance charges, automatic payments or billed debt, and paying before the billing date does not avoid it, according to its website.
- CMR Falabella: Banco Falabella's fee schedule sets the credit line administration fee at 0.085 UF for the basic CMR card and charges 0.05 UF for each cash advance; international purchases carry no fee.

Interest rates: all close to the legal ceiling
In Chile, no loan can be agreed above the maximum conventional rate (TMC), which the CMF publishes every month. For non-indexed debts of 90 days or more and up to 50 UF (about CLP 2,063,444), the band covering smaller purchases and cash advances, the TMC in force from October 15, 2026 is 41.02% a year; between 50 and 200 UF it is 34.02% and between 200 and 5,000 UF, 30.03%. Our guide on how to compare the CAE of a consumer loan explains the difference between the rate and the total cost.
| Issuer and document | Revolving up to 50 UF | 50 to 200 UF | Over 200 UF |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cencosud Scotiabank, in force from Oct 15, 2026 | 3.39% a month (40.68% a year) | 2.81% a month | 2.48% a month |
| Lider Bci, data as of Jul 15, 2026 | 3.455% a month | 2.871% a month | 2.557% a month |
| Maximum conventional rate (CMF), from Oct 15, 2026 | 41.02% a year | 34.02% a year | 30.03% a year |
Sources: Cencosud Scotiabank rate sheet, Lider Bci credit cost table and CMF. Lider Bci's July rate (3.455% a month, 41.46% a year) matched that month's TMC, which has since fallen. Banco Falabella and Banco Ripley do not publish a current rate sheet in the documents reviewed: each customer's rate appears on their summary sheet and account statement.
View the data as a table
| Maximum conventional rate | |
|---|---|
| Jun | 41.42% |
| Jul | 41.46% |
| Aug | No data |
| Sep | 41.06% |
| Oct | 41.02% |

Do you issue cards or loans? Reach Pauta Financiera readers who compare costs before signing up.
See advertising optionsOther charges: cash advances, foreign purchases and late payments
| Item | CMR Falabella | Lider Bci | Cencosud Scotiabank |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cash advance fee | 0.05 UF per advance | 4.415% monthly rate in 1 instalment | 3.39% a month up to 50 UF |
| International purchases | US$0 + 0% | US$0.46 per purchase; CLP 0 until Dec 31, 2026 | Not stated in the rate sheet |
| Instalment purchases at the group's stores | Not stated | 3 instalments at 0% CAE at Walmart formats until Dec 31, 2026 | From 0% on cash and short instalment purchases, depending on the option |
| Collection fees (Law 19,496) | 9% up to 10 UF, 6% from 10 to 50 UF, 3% above 50 UF | Same | Same |
Sources: Banco Falabella, Bci and Cencosud Scotiabank. Out-of-court collection fees are the same everywhere because they are set by the Consumer Protection Law and can only be charged after 20 days in arrears. If the debt goes unpaid, it ends up in commercial credit records; our guide on how to get out of Dicom covers the steps to clear it.

Which profile each card suits, based on its terms
Each issuer's documents allow some usage profiles to be compared, without this being a recommendation. If the card is used every month and no discount applies, the annual cost from the fee alone is about CLP 42,096 on the basic CMR Falabella, CLP 88,644 on the Lider Bci Preferente, CLP 103,500 on the Lider Bci and CLP 117,864 on the Banco Ripley Mastercard, at the November 4 UF.
- Many small purchases a month: Lider Bci waives the fee with 10 or more transactions of CLP 5,000 or more (offer valid until December 31, 2026).
- Instalment purchases at Walmart supermarkets: Lider Bci offers 3 instalments at 0% CAE at those stores until December 31, 2026.
- Purchases abroad: CMR Falabella lists a US$0 + 0% charge; Lider Bci charges US$0.46 per purchase, with a promotional CLP 0 until the end of 2026.
- Occasional use: at Banco Ripley the fee is charged in months when the card is used or a balance is outstanding; at Cencosud Scotiabank, also when insurance or automatic payments are charged to it.
- Cash advances: CMR charges 0.05 UF per advance plus interest; Lider Bci lists 4.415% a month for single-instalment advances and Cencosud 3.39% a month up to 50 UF.
All four issuers are now banks or bank-linked companies (Banco Falabella, Banco Ripley, Bci and Scotiabank), which is why they are supervised by the CMF. Our ranking of Chile's largest banks shows how much weight each group has in the system.
How to read the real cost of a retail store card
The monthly fee and the rate are only part of the cost. The figure that allows comparison is the CAE (carga anual equivalente), which adds interest, fees and charges into a single annual percentage. The law requires it to be disclosed on the summary sheet at signing and on the account statement. For example, Bci's table shows that for a Tarjeta Crédito Universal credit line the CAE ranges from 36.28% with a CLP 250,000 limit to 25.94% with CLP 1,000,000: the fixed fee weighs more the smaller the limit.
To use these figures well, check four things: whether the fee is charged even if the card is not used, how many transactions the discount requires, the rate for the amount band you will use and the CAE on the summary sheet. The CMF has also just set new registration deadlines for card operators, explained in our story on the registration deadlines for payment card operators.
Frequently asked questions
How much is the Ripley card maintenance fee?
The Banco Ripley Mastercard lists a maintenance cost of 0.238 UF a month (2.856 UF a year), about CLP 9,822 a month at the November 4, 2026 UF. It is charged if the card is used in the period or if there is an outstanding balance.
Does the Lider Bci card have a fee?
Yes: 0.209 UF a month for contracts signed since December 6, 2022 and 0.179 UF for the Preferente version. Until December 31, 2026 it is cut by 50% with 5 to 9 monthly transactions and by 100% with 10 or more.
What is the maximum rate they can charge?
From October 15, 2026, the maximum conventional rate for non-indexed loans of 90 days or more and up to 50 UF is 41.02% a year, according to the CMF. It is updated every month.
Does the CMR Falabella card charge for foreign purchases?
Banco Falabella's current fee schedule lists a charge of US$0.00 + 0.00% on international purchases and international cash advances.
Which retail store card is best?
It depends on how it is used. Someone making many small purchases each month may qualify for fee discounts; someone who uses it rarely pays the full fee in the months they use it. To compare, the key figure is the CAE on each issuer's summary sheet.
This information is journalistic and educational, not financial advice. Check the terms and the total cost (CAE) with the institution before signing up.

